One Hundred Thousand share new single “Ophiuchus”

Proglodytes is always on the lookout for new, progressive, unique music. One Hundred Thousand fits the bill, with their complex and thoughtful prog metal and their ambitious themes. Earlier this year, One Hundred Thousand released their highly acclaimed Zodiac, and have released a new single to finish off this album cycle: “Ophiuchus”. Read the press release below:

“After completing their highly dynamic concept album, ZODIAC, One Hundred Thousand had one additional song to complete. Named for the 13th major constellation of the zodiac, “Ophiuchus” arrives July 9th, as the album’s epilogue — a final daunting statement from the band’s ZODIAC odyssey.

Just as the constellation sits among the zodiac signs, the song ‘Ophiuchus’ is related to, yet divergent, from its counterparts.

The ZODIAC album ends on a question mark. ‘Ophiuchus’ wallows in the record’s abandonment and despair and offers the most grisly possible conclusion.

“With ‘Ophiuchus’, we wanted to bridge the gap between the sonic elements of ZODIAC, and what’s to come next from us in the near future. This final bonus track encompasses the beauty and destruction that is ZODIAC.” – OHT

One Hundred Thousand recently released the full concert film performance of the album ZODIAC. Recorded in April 2021 by video crew Alex Dell’Aquila and Alex Ruiz at an undisclosed location in Totowa, NJ, One Hundred Thousand offers up this performance as a thank you to its growing audience, who connected with the band during the gloom of a global pandemic in 2020.

Watch the entire performance here:

ZODIAC is available as a full-double album
everywhere digitally and on vinyl here:

You can see the official videos from the album here:

1 Aries 6:44
2 Taurus 4:00
3 Gemini 5:00
4 Cancer 6:34
5 Leo 5:50
6 Virgo 4:48
7 Libra 5:28
8 Scorpio 6:03
9 Sagittarius 5:51
10 Capricorn 9:50
11 Aquarius 5:12
12 Pisces 6:52

After touring on its 2016 debut album, The Forms In Which They Appear (co- produced by the band and Sevendust’s Clint Lowery), One Hundred Thousand solidified its heavy progressive sound, completed their five-piece band lineup in mid-2017, and began laying the groundwork for ZODIAC.

ZODIAC is an explosive musical revelation that explores the life and death of the ego through soaring melodic peaks, visceral percussive battery and evocative lyrics.

The music for the album was inspired by the classic character traits of each sign of the ZODIAC. The lyrics trace a protagonist’s path from a devastating personal loss, through the illusion of hope to an enigmatic finale over the course of one year.

One Hundred Thousand’s ZODIAC is a valuable statement in rock at a time when the genre is begging for disruption. Its showcase of musicianship is buoyed by an unwavering loyalty to composition and is just what modern progressive rock and metal are looking for.”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.